Who’s afraid of the big bad buttonholes? Not me!!!!

 

Tilly's Picnic Blanket Skirt, well..... mine.

Tilly’s Picnic Blanket Skirt, well….. mine.

 

When I started sewing I thought ooooo this is great having totally individual clothing! But I’ve got a feeling the knew found fame of sewing because of the Great British Sewing Bee (I think I mention it every blog post recently) may have changed that….. and I’ve made The Picnic Blanket Skirt from Tilly and The Buttons blog……at least it’s all different materials.
Well I loved the skirt and it all seemed simple enough, but I’d never made button holes before and turns out they are easy peasy! As long as the measuring out of the buttonholes is in the right place and there is an instruction book with the sewing machine which gives a step by step guide…..and luckily I had both!

IMG_1929

Tilly’s instructions were really good for measuring out the buttonholes, I did have to wing it a bit with where to then put the buttons. First attempt at the top button to get the placket to lie neatly over the top of each other was pretty rubbish, but when I clocked on the button will pull straight to the furthest point of the buttonhole I just went down all the buttonholes with the plackets lying on top of each other and marked a dot at the point I wanted the button on the placket underneath.
I’m glad I plucked up the courage….it always scares me making holes in my clothes not knowing how it’s going to turn out! Turns out it’s all good!

IMG_1928

Leave a Reply

