A gift? ……….For Me?

Hello Robson!!!

Hello Robson!!!

Well not really a gift, but I did win a giveaway! Woohoo! My first! Thanks sooooo much to Veanna from sosewlovely. The fabulous Robson Coat from Sewaholic arrived on my doorstep earlier today! Thanks Postie……who I did actually nearly run over, well, you don’t expect to turn the corner into your road and find the postman crouched over all his mail in the middle of the road! Poor bloke!

Anyway back to the pattern. I have seen numerous Robson coats on various blogs and it’s a great shape and versatile for personalising! This coat to me seems so adaptable, as a rain mac or a lighter summer mac. Especially as the English summer is not what it used to be, this week excepted, let us expect rain…… too pessimistic for me! It’s going to be 22 degrees plus until October 31st (in my mind…..and inside my Robson coat!).

Ooooo, I love a crispy pattern!

Ooooo, I love a crispy pattern!

When I posted on sosewlovely in response to the giveaway I was ‘living on a hope and a dream’, I never win things (especially the lottery!) and the many other sewing enthusiasts made it stiff competition! But luckily my intention of funky lining and contrast cuffs, pockets must have struck a cord. As for material I’m looking forward to this one! Especially as I will be fabric shopping with 40 other sewing bloggers next weekend at the Birmingham meet up, including my new blogging buddy…….and yes we have met in REAL LIFE, actual face to face conversation at a workshop Hannah from madewithhugsandkisses was running at the StyleFactory in Runcorn. Hi Hannah!! See you Thursday at sewing club! (which was a riot this week-great group of women!)!! So I am expecting to be able to pick people’s brains and get some hints and tips on the pattern, also for the Colette Anise which I have been umming and ahhing about for months now!

Colette Anise! Ready and WAITING!

Colette Anise! Ready and WAITING!

I want the Robson coat to be in one colour with the pockets, cuffs, belt and lining to be in a contrast colour. I could keep with a summer nautical theme with navy blue and white contrast, but whenever I flick my eyes towards the pattern I see a turquoise coat with bright pink pockets….eeeek a bit bright , but how fab with the right shades (no I don’t mean sunglasses!). Yet, who knows what I’ll end up with after an all day fabric shopping trip, swoon!!!!

So another watch this space……yeah I know there has been no progress with the Anise…….but I will hopefully be blogging next Saturday in sheer joy and excitement at the material I have selected for the Robson!

Supersize EEEEEEEEEEKKK!!!!! in excitement!

And another huge thank-you to Veanna (cool name!) at sosewlovely! And Happy Blogiversary!!!!!!

Happy Sewing!

5 thoughts on “A gift? ……….For Me?

  1. With the fabric you got on Saturday these are going to be some VERY nice coats. I couldn’t picture the sewaholic one when you were talking about it the other day but oh my that is one gorgeous pattern… perhaps you feel generous enough to let me borrow it when you are done? xxx

      • Hurrah for sewing friends!!! I already have an idea of the material I want to use… he he he! the yellow stuff that was £1 a metre! A POUND A METRE!!!!! Nice one Hannah! xx (and already looking forward to our next trip to Birmingham, when I replenish my cash source after last weekend!)

      • That yellow fabric would be PERFECT for that dress…. damn wish I had thought of that now 🙂

        I mentioned to Lara earlier that another trip during the summer holidays would be fun, no work and it give us time to save up 😀 If we went mid week I bet it wouldn’t be as busy! If we are going to do that though I have to set myself a strict target of using up the material I just bought.

Leave a Reply

