Feeling Crafty!

Who’d have thought sewing would have become such a huge part of my spare (!?!) time (generally I should be doing other things….oops!) and this blog has generally been dominated by the clothes I’ve made. Three months in and my conscience is getting the better of me and it was time to make something for Fin! (and a little upgrade project for me…exciting! another first!) So a toy box did emerge!

My Kirstie Allsopp moment! Carbooting it!

My Kirstie Allsopp moment! Carbooting it!

IMG_2108 IMG_2110 IMG_2115 IMG_2119 IMG_2121

I went to a carboot sale on a sunny day, as seems to be the only time when people ever go to carboot sales…….better than IKEA in the sun I suppose! Stumbling across a box…yes folks, a box! I had visions of a fabulously upholstered, baroque style footstool and classy storage/ less obvious toybox…..did it happen did it heck! The child in me, or the three year old which lives in my house, took over and so bright blue paint and dinosaurs did emerge.

Now it did take a bit of work to get this box living in the house worthy! A little bit of Martha Stewart research later and a, luckily very sunny Saturday, the box sat open in the back garden for at least 5 hours to let the sun dry it out and then I wiped it down with white vinegar soaked into a cloth (this is supposedly to get rid of the musty smell and kill any bacteria), but then onbiouvsly there was a slight waft of vinegar, so the box got left in the kitchen over night with a bowl of bicarbonate of soda inside and the lid closed to draw out and absorb all the smells…..3 methods has got to be better than one! And indeed the box is now living in the living room and not at all wiffy!!

The next day turned out to be another sunny one so was happy to have run around b&q to get my stash of crafting bits and be home painting in the back garden! Luckily I remembered a tin of paint I bought to paint a feature wall and never got round to, so didn’t need to buy paint! After sanding all the surfaces of the box I got to work slopping paint everywhere – love painting – and two coats later it was looking fab! You’ll notice I painted the lid….which was unnecessary as I then completely covered the lid!

I thought it would be really easy doing the upholstery bit, but I  must have spent 30 minutes faffing about with how to fold in the corners as it’s obviously not flush over the cushion. After hacking the material away and nailing the material to the lid in various places it seemed to work…..but looked quite messy! Hence, the idea to then cover the inside of the lid with the blue material. Now I could have used a staple gun, but as my boy is going to be using it I didn’t want staples falling out or catching him and the nails are the right thickness for the wood, lie flush into the wood and aren’t very obvious so I didn’t even bother to cover the last few. Idid put on new hinges to replace the rusty ones, looks much better!

The padding was a cushion I had lieing around the house waiting for such a project and I just chopped it down to size! I was quite lucky I had the majority of the materials I needed in the house! Both Fin and I are happy with the outcome of our multipurpose toybox/ footstool/ seat! Maybe it needs some pics or stencils on the sides!?!

And not a stitch to sew!!!

5 thoughts on “Feeling Crafty!

Leave a Reply

