Sewing Meet Up!

I know it’s a little late in the day but what an amazing time was had by all at the sewing meet-up in Birmingham on Saturday! Lovely ladies to chat sewing and fabric with, lovely lunch, amazing shopping and a cute little flower brooch (which was very handy knowing who to talk to in the fabric shop…..which was busy!).

IMG_2136

Marie, Kat and Claire did an amazing job organising everyone, especially the awkward person who order their lunch wrong (ooops…. yes that was me!). They kept everyone together and made everyone welcome and sorted a fab swap! Well done ladies!

I was lucky enough to have met Hannah from Madewithhugsandkisses before the swap and headed down to Brum on the train with the lovely lady! But to anybody who possibly put off turning out for the event, there would be no need to be daunted, everybody spoke to everybody else and was really friendly! Everyone was really happy to talk fabric and we were all discussing which patterns we were planning…..I got some great tips about doing the Colette Anise jacket – Thanks Claire and Charlotte!

The day was great and very exciting, but the excitement is still there, every time I walk past my new stash of fabric! I get a little giddy feeling in my tummy! Especially when I remember how much some of them cost! The Market was amazing and we got some amazing materials! One of which (the lemon) was £1 a meter!!!! What…… £1??????!!!!!!!!! Mental!

So here is the new stash and yes, all jackets are covered!!!

I got so excited about this turquoise gabardine (yes I discovered fabric with gabardine on the label! I know what it is now!) and I cannot wait to get started for my summer Anise. Talking of Anise I discovered this gorgeous green tweed to make a winter Anise jacket! And yes I do have a green flat cap I can wear with it!

Anise fabric

Anise fabric

I had given up the ghost on material for the Robson coat! Until……this little beauty turned up and for £2 a meter! (on the market obviously) I was made up, especially as I needed 5m! Check out the weave! Love it waffley!!!!!

Robson fabric

Robson fabric

The swap was great….put your unwanted items in and take out what you like the look of! One woman’s unwanted sewing items…. are another woman’s treasure! So I put in a few fabrics and a pattern and took a few fabrics and a pattern and stood back from the table but there were so many fab items left people just weren’t into and so I picked up the amazing orange with shiny pink…love it! definitely being made into a skirt and a bag! The ditsy floral I had my eye on as soon as the materials were laid out and the black lace…..well….I had been telling some ladies earlier I wanted to try making a lace shift dress! so the plan came together perfectly…and thank you Lara for not wanting the lace!

Swaps!

Swaps!

A better shot of the lace!

A better shot of the lace!

Now here are a number of dresses for our not so fabulous summer but still, so excited by all the material and some ideas! And yes it was a bit of a shopping spree and I won’t be going fabric shopping again in a long time – but it will be back in Birmingham!

From the market!

From the market!

From the shop!

From the shop!

This is going to keep me very busy……..

Cannot wait for the next meet up ladies! XX

9 thoughts on “Sewing Meet Up!

    • ooo I have some ideas! It was lovely to meet you too and I’m loving the dress you dreamed up and wore for the meet up! You may see something similar soon on here…… he he he!

  1. I think you are getting a little obsessed with jackets! You are going to be the warmest and best dressed person all autumn and winter at this rate. What a fantastic day though, I can see us going back there much sooner than we anticipate 😀

    • Ha ha! I washed the material for the Robson and Anise over the weekend, turned out great! Going to get on with the Robson (it doesn’t need lining, unlike the Anise, which has two linings!) Hopefully it will be on the way by Thursday x

    • Hi Claire, lovely meeting you too! Had an amazing time!!! I see you spotted that fab polka dot too! I was sadly running out of pennies and only got 1m! Can’t wait for the next meetup? xx

Leave a Reply

