Well done you handy Mums!!!

When on the sewing meet up another blogger asked me, do I make clothes for my son? My response was a dead end no! I didn’t want my son to be one of those kids who the other kids take the mick out of….for whatever reason and I do believe this is one area when they can be given ammunition! Sorry to all you very creative Mums out there….but as you will see I ate my words on a silver platter!!!!
I like making play and crafty things for my son. There’s been a tepee, a toybox, 3D letters of his name and tote bags (plus more no doubt) and I have repeatedly reflected on my response to the question I was asked and thought…..why the heck not make him clothes, he’s 3, he doesn’t care what I dress him, though he does get a little more excited when Spiderman t-shirts and jumpers come out! And the other kids at nursery, come on they are 3 not like the hugely judgemental teenage boys I teach! I got scoffed at for mentioning my shoes were from Tesco…nothing wrong with that! But apparently the only place to buy your footwear is JD sport……hmmmmmm???? can’t imagine turning up to school in my running trainers! (Big roll of the eyes to afore mentioned teenager!).

IMG_2329[1]

So, here’s what happened. While partaking in one of my ‘should be doing something but procrastinating’ by mooching about on pinterest! Love it, can do it for hours! I found MADE, again. I’ve used this site for tutorials before, and looking through the kids clothing tutorials found some fab trouser ideas and noticed a free pattern which it turns out is exactly the right size for Fin! Woohoo! Adapted the pattern to be flat fronted, as I think this style looks less bulky and more shop bought et voila, I’m never buying pj bums again!
My next mission is to get down to the fabric shop and get material for summer trousers and racer shorts!!

So to all you Mums who make their kids clothes…. I praise you! I think it’s a great idea and can’t wait to do more! And even just to see the look on Fin’s face when he has something made FOR HIM!! …….especially with dinosaurs on!!!

Leave a Reply

